2018 Reading Challenges

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Tanya and Kim of Girl XOXO have posted the Master List of Book Challenges for 2018.
Although I read the 400 books for my Goodreads Challenge for this year, I did not follow the challenges I had listed back in December of last year. I read in most genres, but I wasn’t organized at all.
This year I plan to be more disciplined about my reading. I am signing up for 12 Reading Challenges and am looking forward to taking part in a wide variety of them – from scifi to key words to memoir.
Here are the challenges, with a link to the guidelines/lists for each:

52 Books in 52 Weeks

52 books 52 weeks2018-reading-challenge (1)

Hosted at Mommy Mannegren, this is a new challenge this year, with 52 books to read, based on different genres and themes.

Check here for the guidelines.

 

A to Z Reading Challenge

a to z rdg 2018img_20170922_204343_001000

 

I have tried this challenge before, but have never completed it. This year I hope to read the 26 books required, letter by letter.

Check here for the guidelines.

 

Bookish Resolutions Challenge

bookish resol_n

I have taken part in ROW 80 on and off for several years – the challenge that encourages us to post goals and then achieve, recognizing that we do have lives to lead.

I like the idea of this yearly challenge posted by Laura and Michelle, that requires us to post bookish resolutions, for reading, writing and blogging, as they rlate to books only..

Here are mine for 2018:

Reading Goals:

  1. Read 400 books (and enter titles on Goodreads)
  2. Participate (and complete) actively in 12 reading challenges
  3. Read at least 52 books from my overflowing TBR pile.

Blogging Goals:

  1. Write one book review a week.
  2. Develop my author online presence.

Writing Goals:

  1. Write at least 1000 words a day.
  2. Contribute to an anthology.
  3. Submit at least once a month.

 

Check here for guidelines.

 

Creativity Reading Challenge

Creativity Reading challenge

 

I love the premise of this challenge posted by Jamie Ghione:

“This challenge is about reading books on creativity, art, crafts, writing, film making, photography, cosmetology, DIY, cooking, music and any other topic that helps you live a more creative life. “

I hope to read at least one creative book a month, especially on art and writing.

 

Check here for guidelines.

 

Memoir Reading Challenge

Memoir Reading Challenge 2018

I love reading memoirs, as biographies. I am also working on my own memoir.

We are asked to read at least 5 memoirs and Jamie has given us 32 possible categories to choose from.

I hope to read at least 12 – one a month.

Check here for guidelines.

 

Modern Mrs. Darcy Reading Challenge

At Modern Mrs. Darcy, this year’s challenge lists 12 categories to read for the year.

Check here for guidelines (and the list)

 

 

Monthly Key Word Reading Challenge

Monthly Key Word Challenge

This challenge will add a bit of research, as opposed to just picking up any book!

Each month there are several key words to choose from – so a book a month is quite doable.

Check here for guidelines (and the key words).

 

Monthly Motif Challenge

monthly-Motif (1)

Tanya and Kim have come up with 12 different categories to read this year – some will definitely be a challenge.

Check here for the guidelines and the motifs.

 

Mount TBR Challenge

Mount TBR 2018

 

This is the most necessary challenge – as I have wayyyy too many books not read. I collect books instead of jewellry or makeup. Only trouble is that they take up wayyyy more space!

My goal is:  Mt. Kilimanjaro: Read 60 books from your TBR pile/s

I hope to read more, but this would mean at least a book a week. Doable!

Check here for the guidelines.

 

Newbery Reading Challlenge

newbery-badge-2018_orig

I have wanted to read all the Newbery winners – but still have a ways to go. This year I want to read many more.

This is my goal this year:    Lowry: 60 – 74 points

Check here for guidelines.

 

Popsugar Ultimate Reading Challenge

I especially like their goal of encouraging everyone to read more.

“This year, there are 40 book prompts to broaden your reading scope and push you to actually accomplish your New Year’s resolution to read more in 2018. If you’re really hardcore and breeze through the main list, there are an additional 10 book prompts in the “advanced” section.”

So 50 books to read – with lots of variety.

Check here for the list and guidelines.

 

Swords and Stars Reading Challenge

swords and stars ea3a704c (1)

 

I love reading fantasy and science fiction, so although I will read a lot of this genre, this challenge appealed to me for its variety.

There are twenty challenges – so 20 books to read.

Check here for the checklist and guidelines.

 

  • – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – — – – – – – – – – – – –

There are so many challenges – a master list is posted here. Be sure to check it out.

What challenges will you pareticipate in this year??

 

7 thoughts on “2018 Reading Challenges

  1. Thanks for signing up for Swords and Stars! I’m so happy and excited to get started, Loved reading about your 2018 goals. I’m gonna have to join you in writing at least one review a week. Good luck on your goals and challenges!

  2. Pingback: Day 7: March Slice of Life | Beverley A Baird

Leave a comment