SOL Tuesday

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

Today is Slice of Life Tuesday – the weekly writing challenge hosted at “Two Writing Teachers”. After a month of writing, the weekly challenge has returned.

I may be crazy, but I have started another month-long challenge. This one is the “A to Z April Blogging Challenge” and well over a thousand people usually take part.

There are so many themes to choose from – I chose Art.

I have missed carving stamps, so I am carving a stamp a day. With the stamp, I am then creating an art tag, with a quote. Here’s a link to today’s (C is for Circles)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

As I created the art tag, the quote I chose made me think about what is happening in the world today. Too often people are turning insular, closing off anyone who is different from themselves. It is a scary time, because it means prejudice and racism are once again flourishing, with tragic results.

We need to be open to new people, new experiences, new places. We can’t let a few trying to live in Gilead stop progress, change, multiculturalism. The world is becoming smaller, and neighbours now can be from anywhere. Easter should have taught us that love rules – not hate.

10 thoughts on “SOL Tuesday

  1. How true, Bev. We no longer live in little clusters isolated from everyone who is not like us. The horizons have expanded and we need to as well. If our hearts are filled with love then there is no room fore hate.

  2. Absolutely this: “We can’t let a few trying to live in Gilead stop progress, change, multiculturalism.” I totally changed my speech classes to combat this. I’m making the focus social justice.
    I’ve done the A to Z challenge twice. I considered it but chose the poetry challenge instead.

Leave a comment