May Reading Round-Up

rdg roundup 001

Time once again to share what I have been reading this past month – this has been keeping more accountable for the reading challenges I am taking part in.
This past month the total read was 27, with the following breakdown:

Fantasy/scifi – 3
Middle grade/YA novels – 2
Non-fiction – 0
Picture books – 6
Romance – 9
Women’s Fiction -3

(Ebooks – 4)
TBR books -1
I read these books for the Reading Challenges I’ve joined:

Beyond the Bookends.
The theme for May was to read a royal love story. I read an ebook:

The Royal Trade by Erin Hayes

Monthly Key Word Challenge
The key word I chose this month was “dog” and the book I read was a YA book –

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time by Mark Haddon.

52 Books in 52 Weeks
I read from 5 categories this past month:
A book set in the Middle East – Catch a Dream by Wendy Brown-Baez
A book with a 6 – word title: The Quest to the Uncharted Lands by Jaleigh Johnson
A book by a Canadian Author : Bellewether by Susanna Kearsley
A book with bad reviews – The Last of August by Brittany Cavallaro
A book on my TBR shelf: The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time by Mark Haddon.

Swords and Stars Reading Challenge.
I read   Secrets of Solace –by Jaleigh Johnson–Read a book with a map

Writers Write Book Reading Challenge
I read two books for this challenge:
A novel based on a true story – Catch a Dream by Wendy Brown-Baez

A novel with a month in the title: The Last of August by Brittany Cavallaro

 

For May, my top 5 reads were:
By far my favourite was: Bellewether by Susanna Kearsley
Also:
The Recipe Box by Viola Shipman
The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time by Mark Haddon.
Secrets of Solace –by Jaleigh Johnson
The Quest to the Uncharted Lands by Jaleigh Johnson

My goals for June are to continue to read more books on my TBR pile, as well as to read different genres, especially mg/ya, memoirs, more diverse books/authors.

June 1 starts a new reading challenge which looks very doable, as well as interesting. Amy Young of “The Messy Middle” is hosting the ”Summer 2018 Reading Challenge.” She provides a list of 22 categories and you are to read at least 7 of them. I am challenging myself to read all 22. Wish me luck!

 

 

Linking with

It's Monday! What Are You Reading (1)

Book Date

2018-Monthly-Wrap-Up-Round-Up400 (1)

Feeding Your Fiction Addiction

 

BotB-logo

Best of the Bunch

8 thoughts on “May Reading Round-Up

  1. Wow, good luck! Why do you recommend “Bellewether”? I’ve actually never even heard of it. I am currently reading “Unbound” by Ann E. Burg and am loving it. It’s written in free verse. The Messy Middle’s challenge sounds great!

  2. Thanks Linda. I have read most of Kearsley’s books – many are dual time shifts. This goes back and forth between present day and 1700s in the US. Just so well written. Can lend it to you.

  3. What a well organized process you have! I am too much of a mood reader to join many challenges, but I do enjoy tracking the different kinds of books I read and so on.

    • Thanks Wendy. There are just so many books I want to read – these challenges do help take some of the guesswork from “what’s next”. But mood does play a part for sure.

  4. I didn’t know Susanna Kearsley was Canadian, wonderful author for Canada. The two books at the top of your five for this month are on my TBR so great to see you loved them.

Leave a comment