Day 30 – March Slice of Life

sols_6

Today is Day 30 of the March Slice of Life – the daily writing challenge hosted at “Two Writing Teachers”.

I was reading the latest Reader’s Digest Friday night (the April issue) and started to read “A Warm Reminder”. The author, Sarah Richards, wrote about the comfort she found in an old coat of her father’s, after his death.
It got me thinking about two coats of my Dad’s and the memories they brought up.
One was a long, heavy navy coat that my dad wore in the winter, especially when he would flood our rinks.
The other was a big, knit Icelandic type sweater that he wore a lot. I can remember that it was white and had a design – but right now, I can’t remember if it was a deer or not on the back. I can’t remember either if my mom knit it or not. I want to think she did – but I am not sure. She is gone now and I’m not even sure if there is anyone else who would remember it.
I really haven’t thought of that sweater in a very long time. My Dad passed away 47 years ago. I’m not even sure what happened to the sweater after he died.
I need to do some searching –
-to look for pictures of him in that sweater – I know I have at least one somewhere
– and talk to my older brother and ask what he remembers.
Memories are so precious – and I hate not remembering. It bothers me – a lot. I need answers. I need to know.

10 thoughts on “Day 30 – March Slice of Life

  1. Your slice has helped me make a decision. My Dad died eight months ago, and a jumper my grandmother knitted him before I was born – some 45 years ago – is one thing I’ve not been sure what to do with. I’m too practical, I wondered what I would ever do with it. I’ve read your post, and now I know. I’ll just keep it. Thanks for the timely slice. Hope your brother can fill in some of your memories.

  2. I was just commenting on another post about my own blurred memories. I find that often, we don’t know what’s worth remembering, what questions to ask others before they are gone and those very questions arise, too late to be answered. I hope you are able to find those photos!

  3. I hear you. I try to remember… and there is no one to help with some of my memories… You thoughts about your dad’s coats reminds me of a jean jacket. It was my youngest son’s when he was in college. Somehow it ended up in one of my closets, and I discovered it after he and his family moved to Ecuador. It fit me… especially if I was wearing a sweater or sweatshirt. It gave me comfort to wear it when my heart was aching with the missing after they first moved. It still hangs in the closet… I will tuck this idea / memory into my journal for a future memory slice. Thank you.

  4. Memories come and ,memories go only to be jogged by something we see or read. I know that my memories of my parents get fuzzy at times. I don’t have any articles of clothing from them but old pictures bring back memories. They might not always be accurate, but they are happy.

  5. What a lovely post. My father died a few years ago and I commissioned a teacher friend to make lovely quilted Christmas ornaments from some of his shirts, and I gave them as gifts to my siblings and children. Perhaps more details of your memories will surface soon. I hope so. Thank you for sharing your heart.

Leave a comment