March Slice of Life – Day 11

Image

Image

Today is Day  11 of the March Slice of Life, a daily writing challenge hosted by “Two writing Teachers”. Not only is it writing, but it is community – visiting and reading other slices and leaving comments.

I am also taking part in a writers’ challenge “Blog Hop for Writers” and this biweekly theme is “What is your Favourite Genre”

As a reader, I read most genres, but have a love of historical fiction as well as science fiction and fantasy. To imagine new world, to imagine a future provides hope for our world and scifi provides that, as well as an intriguing story. YA fits well into the fantasy genre and there have been some exceptional novels in this genre.

Really, I am drawn to any good story, although I will not read horror. I enjoy biographies and memoirs as well. It is fascinating to read about the lives of other people, especially those who have overcome much in their lives.

As a writer, I have written several romance novellas, two of which I am trying to expand. I love the picture book format and have written three so far. I am working on a middle grade novel and am enjoying the process so far.

I am reading in these genres to further my writing in these genres as well.

Visit here to see how others have answered this question about genre.

 

15 thoughts on “March Slice of Life – Day 11

  1. I don’t think there is any genre I dislike, even horror, although I haven’t read any in a long while. Beverley. I wish you well in the picture book writing. I suspect it’s just as challenging as a novel, don’t you? My favorite genre is memoir in the adult section and in YA, dystopian. I love picture books too. See, I really can not pick a favorite.

  2. Thanks for sharing your interests in reading and writing. It sounds like you’ll never have a shortage of things to write about 🙂 Thanks for participating in the blog hop. It’s fun getting to know new circles of people this way.

  3. I think every writer should write what moves them and give up on the whole genre thing until such time as a genre needs be created. IMO, genre seems to exist solely for marketing purposes. Thanks for the post!

Leave a comment