March SOL – Day 6

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

 

Today is Day 6 of the March Slice of Life – the daily writing challenge for March, hosted at “Two Writing Teachers”.

Saturday was a day for reading.
I read three picture books for a picture book study I am working on this month for ReFoReMo.
Then I finished “Soldering Hunger” by Donna Grant which has taken me most of the week to finish as there were other books I was reading as well. I’ve enjoyed this fantasy series about the Dragon Kings, but now I have to wait for the newest one! (At least I have the new Fever series book “Feverborn” by Moning to start next!)

But the major reading was of “Big Magic” by Elizabeth Gilbert. I had heard so much about this book and finally got it from the library. I was NOT disappointed.
I took notes as I read – focusing on living a creative life beyond fear. It made me realize I can and must live a creative life and it is in my power to do so.
There were so many great quotes, stories and images.

Fear is shown as a “desolate boneyard”, where “our dreams go to desiccate in the hot sun”
(I recognized some of my fears from her list – having no talent, not trained for eg.)

“Creativity is the hallmark of our species.”

“Our creativity is a wild and unexpected bonus from the universe.”

“Bring forth what is within.. whether it succeeds or fails.”

“Done is better than good.”

“Curiosity is the truth and the way of creative living.”

“My soul deserves only one thing – Wonder.”

14 thoughts on “March SOL – Day 6

  1. I’m glad you got to Big Magic. As you wrote, so many have celebrated it. I have it, but still haven’t found the time to read. Hopefully someday! Have a lovely Sunday, Bev.

  2. I am patiently waiting for my turn for Big Magic from the library. I love the “Done is better than good.” I think that needs to be quoted daily.

  3. First, I love your idea of setting Saturday aside for catching up on the reading we do for school! Great way to tackle, “So many books, so little time.” Second, I immediately looked up “Big Magic” because I hadn’t heard of it. Loved “Eat, Pray, Love” and now plan on reading this, so thank you!

Leave a comment