March SOL – Day 17

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

 

Today is day 17 of the March Slice of Life – the daily writing challenge hosted at `Two Writing Teachers`.

It`s been sometime since I`ve participated in 30 Words Thursday. It seems that this weekly challenge has not been running for some time. I thought though, that it was the perfect vehicle to describe St. Patrick`s Day.
At first, I focused on leprechauns, rainbows and shamrocks. But then I read the editorial in today`s Waterloo Record and was inspired by the life of the real St. Patrick.

St. Patrick`s Day

Ireland`s patron saint
Lived 1500 years ago
Kidnapped by Irish pirates
Slave for six years
Became a Christian priest
Returned to Ireland
Shared his faith
Helped the sick and poor.

10 thoughts on “March SOL – Day 17

  1. You wrote a great piece! And thanks for sharing the process you went through deciding what and how to write it. That makes this a great mentor text.

  2. Never tried writing something in just thirty words. I like the format. It makes you really think about what you want to say. I just may have to try it someday. Love your poem about St. Patrick.

Leave a comment