March Slice of Life – Day 7: F

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

Today is Day 7 of the March Slice of Life – the daily writing challenge hosted at Two Writing Teachers.

 

F is For Fluffy

I remember the first day we met the tiny kitten we would name Fluffy. She was the runt of the litter and my children were drawn to her. She was a beauty, even at that young age. She was a kaleidoscope of colours. For 25c my children bought a new pet and she was brought home.

She was probably too young to leave her mother because for months and months after, she suckled on the afghans I crocheted.

She grew but was always tiny. She was fierce though. She stood up to dogs and caught mice, chipmunks and even birds. She was an outdoor cat and often left for days at a time.

She needed surgery a couple of times and both times she recovered poorly. It was as she was drunk and even fell several times.

She had a bad habit of climbing the screens from outside, especially our patio ones. I don’t know how many screens she destroyed.

When she was 17, we moved to Cambridge and we were staying at a second floor apartment. On the second day she escaped and we didn’t know how. We hunted for her, so afraid she would get lost in this new place or get hit by a car. But she returned two days later and we watched as she jumped to the top of the high fence walked along it and then jumped up to our balcony.

Hard to believe that she lived to be 21. She was an amazing cat and I am still not able to get another pet. She was special, one of a kind.

 

 

14 thoughts on “March Slice of Life – Day 7: F

  1. I remember when I brought Molly home from outside of our school. She was a trembling ball of gray fluff that fit in the palm of my hand. She is sitting here on the arm of the chair watching me write comments. She is definitely my cat.

  2. My daughter’s cat is over 15 now. She’s kind of an old lady compared to the kitten she was, but she still has it. Just last week my daughter sent me a video of her teaching Chloe to high five for a potato chip. Chloe and Fluffy sort of sound like kindred spirits.

  3. I am such a sucker for faithful pet posts! (I actually just wrote one the other day about my dog, Gracie, who is a ripe old 15 years of age…but not nearly as impressive as 21!!) I love how pets come into our lives–who could have guessed when your kids talked you into that twenty-five cent cat that you would have a lifelong pal and a cornucopia of memories! Thank you for sharing! 🙂

Leave a comment