March Slice of Life – Day 30: Memories and Books

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

Today is Day 30 of the March Slice of Life – the daily writing challenge hosted at Two Writing Teachers.

 

Memories of Books

I met with my writing friend Linda for our monthly get together – to share writing, a lunch, and lots of talk.

We got talking about memory and I said I had trouble remembering last week, let alone two years ago. (I couldn’t remember a book I had won 2 years ago). She said my long term memory was probably better and that I could remember favourite books I had read to my children (which is true). I then shared this story with her:

One of my youngest son’s favourite books was “Love You Forever” by Robert Munsch. He wanted me to sing the song every night before going to sleep.

Several years later, I attended a writer’s conference and Munsch was the keynote speaker. He read that book and even sang the song I always sang. My first thought though was – he wasn’t singing it correctly! I did get him to sign the book though – it is now my most treasured book.

It is also a book that I read regularly to my students – at least until my Mom died in 2008. After that I just could not read it.

What treasured books do you remember reading to your children?

13 thoughts on “March Slice of Life – Day 30: Memories and Books

  1. My son loved any Minne and Moo boom and we read them all over and over again and giggled a lot. Thanks for asking.

  2. I’m with you: Love you forever, but I mus admit I have yet to be able to read it through without getting choked up. … even if I happen to pick it up and read it to myself …there’s something about that cycle of life that really touches me

Leave a comment